Church of the Saviour of Tabuado - Rota do Românico

While sources attest the existence, in the 12th century, of two temples in Tabuado, one dedicated to Saint Mary and another one to the Saviour, the latter seems to have won out as the leading patron.

This was, however, erected later on, probably in mid 13th century, according to the proto-Gothic rosette in the main façade and other ornamental elements of the building.

The main portal stands out for its quality: tympanum supported on corbels [salient support stones] in the form of bovine heads (such as the ones in the Monastery of Paço de Sousa, Penafiel) and capitals carved with botanic motifs. Also featured here is the pearls motif, recurrent in the Romanesque of the basins of the Tâmega and Sousa.

The belfry stands as a defensive tower.

In the body of the nave, and at the level of the cross arch, two buttresses remain, which accentuate the volumetrics of the Church.

Inside, the most evident trace of the Romanesque is the triumphal arch, whose archivolts sit on two columns, with the lines of ashlars decorated with saw teeth and chained circles. Their capitals result from a contemporary arrangement.

Vibrant is the 16th century mural painting that covers the back wall of the chancel, depicting Christ as a judge, flanked by Saint John the Baptist and Saint James, the Greater.

Type: Church

Classification: Public Interest Building – 1944

Route: Tâmega Valley

1258 - First reference to Santa Maria Tabulata;

1320 - The Church of Tabuado pays a tax of 105 Portuguese libras;

1475 - The "couto" of Tabuado [place of privileges] is reduced to a secular abbey;

15th century (late) - Probable chronology regarding the development of the Church's painting campaigns;

1912 - Handover of the assets of the parish of Tabuado to the Municipal Commission for Cultural Heritage;

1955-1972 - Period of conservation and restoration interventions at the Church of Tabuado;

2010 - Integration of the Church of the Saviour of Tabuado in the Route of the Romanesque;

2013 - Works for the renovation of the roofs and the preservation of the external walls, under the scope of the Route of the Romanesque.

Divine Saviour - 6th August

By appointment

Saturday - 6.45 pm; Wednesday/Thursday - 6 pm (alternately)

Monument not accessible to visitors with reduced mobility.

+351 255 810 706

+351 918 116 488

How to get here:

41.185976, -8.119873

Rua da Igreja, Tabuado, Marco de Canaveses, Porto

By Train
Douro Railroad (Porto-Marco Urban Trains or Porto-Régua/Pocinho Regional Trains), with exits at Marco de Canaveses station (2.6 km from Church of Tabuado). Check here for all the schedules and price table.

By Car

Northern Portugal: A28/A3/A24/A7/A11 » A4 (Vila Real) » Marco de Canaveses » Baião » Rota Românico/Igreja de Tabuado.

Porto: A4 (Vila Real) » Marco de Canaveses » Baião » Rota Românico/Igreja de Tabuado.

Central/Southern Portugal: A1 (Porto)/ A29 (V.N. Gaia) » A41 CREP » A4 (Vila Real) » Marco de Canaveses » Baião » Rota Românico/Igreja de Tabuado.

Marco de Canaveses: N211 Baião » Rota Românico/Igreja de Tabuado.

Cookies settings
The Route of the Romanesque uses cookies to improve your browsing experience, security and its website performance. The Route of the Romanesque may also use cookies to share information on social media and location, to present search results that are more relevant to the user.